RSS

Student Post: Chongqing food

21 Oct

Chongqing, a popular  tourist city famous for its pungent and spicy food, as well as many historical tourist attractions. This city attracts more than 200 million people every year. No matter which place in Chongqing travelers decide to visit, Chongqing food is always what they would love to try.

As a local student in Chongqing, I’d like to share my favorite local food with you.

Talking about Chongqing food, the first thing comes into my mind is absolutely the hotpot. Hotpot was originated from the quays of Chongqing. In the old days, boat trackers in Chongqing were very poor and they were so hungry after one day’s work. So they bought some giblets which are much more cheaper than meat, and put them into boiled water with chili and pepper. Now it’s becoming Chongqing people’s favorite food. Wherever Chongqing people go, they would miss hot pot and the atmosphere eating with friends and families so much.  If you want to experience the life of the Chongqing locals, just go and try the hotpot.

圖片11Photo source: http://www.baidu.com

Recent years, Chongqing’s grilled fish appeals to more and more young people. It’s not as spicy as hotpot but it adds more spices which make this dish flavorful. Because of the crispy fish skin and the juicy fish meat inside, I believe it will be more liked by travelers who cannot eat too spicy food. So if you cannot eat spicy food, don’t worry too much, you can still find the yummy Chongqing food which suits you most.

圖片12Photo source: http://www.baidu.com

After talking so much about Chongqing food, I just can’t wait to eat them again! Hope you can go to Chongqing one day and enjoy the delicious food I introduced above.J

Questions:

1. Do you like spicy food?

2. Do you know anything about Chongqing before?

3. Would you like to travel to Chongqing?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2014 in Week 6

 

3 responses to “Student Post: Chongqing food

  1. com1_urhighness

    October 23, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    I do eat spicy foods sometimes. However,to be honest, I do not like it very much. When it comes to medical point of view, spiciness is actually a pain. It makes you hard to taste favor of other foods. I have not been to Chongqing before. I hope I can go there someday.

     
  2. Com_1 Kevin

    November 3, 2014 at 10:45 am

    If I traveling to chongqing I would try the grilled fish for sure, crispy fish skin, juicy meat and must important they add spices. I think it would approve my appetite because I love the fragrance spread from the food. I am can’t not wait to try. Did you know where have the grilled fish like that in Taiwan?

     
  3. Com1_Irene

    December 12, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    I like spicy food very much. If I have the chance, I will like to travel to Chongqing, because I want to try the spicy food in there.

     

Comments