RSS

Student Post: Travel

28 Oct

I love to travel. In my opinion, the meaning of travel is to find something new. I always remember a wonderful trip in Lanyu one summer vacation when I was eighteen. That was a really special experience because it was a trip by myself.

Lanyu is an aboriginal small island. It is filled with many stories and friendly people. Because I had limited money , I could only stay two days in Lanyu. I couldn’t waste any time! After putting my luggage at the hotel, I rode a motorcycle to explore the whole  island.

Lanyu is extremely beautiful! I loved the coral-reef coast in the sunshine. I loved the special aboriginal culture, and I also loved the slow paced lifestyle. I went swimming in the ocean, seeing a lot of tropical fish playing around the coral reef. I ate a flying fish meal with yams, potatoes, and taros. They were staple food in Lanyu. They were not quite delicious, but I loved to eat them. I got up very early to see the sunrise. When the sun slowly climbed up from the sea horizon, I felt so touched. I found that the sun was just like an egg yolk. After watching the sunrise, I went to eat a wonderful breakfast.

A travel just by myself, on one hand, sometimes makes me feel afraid and lonely. While on the other hand, it is a great opportunity to overcome such a pessimistic feeling. I can even try to enjoy it. During the lonely trip, I can learn to grow up and become an independent girl. I discover that the meaning of travel is not only to find something new, but also to become a brave and independent person whom I really want to be.

Questions:

1. Have you ever been to Lanyu, or the other nearby island?

2. Do you like sunrise, or like sunset better?

3. In your opinion, what is the meaning of travel?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2014 in Week 7

 

8 responses to “Student Post: Travel

  1. com1_urhighness

    November 2, 2014 at 8:47 am

    I have been to green island. It is quite a small island.
    I like sunset better because I don’t have to see it at morning.
    I think travel is a good way to recharge yourself and enjoy the local stuff.

     
  2. Com2_Cherry

    November 3, 2014 at 3:44 pm

    I’ve been Lanyu in summer and winter vacation this year. I stayed there for three weeks. That’s a place to live not just for fun I think. And to me “travel” means a way to know some places, a trip to know who you are. I like traveling very much! Many different thing will happen in these times 🙂

     
  3. Com1_Annie

    November 3, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    I haven’t been to Lanyu or the other nearby island before. I like the sunrise more than the sunset. Because I think the sunrise means the beginning of the day or life. However, I always sleep to the midday, so it is very difficult for me to see the sunrise. In my opinion, travel means relax and finding the things or life you really want.

     
  4. Com2_Jim

    November 5, 2014 at 9:55 am

    I think travel can refresh people mind, Make someone be relax. I think travel is very important,

     
  5. Com1_Ruby2

    November 9, 2014 at 3:06 am

    1.No,I still not step out of Taiwan even the nearby islands.but I am so expected the chance to visit those islands.
    2.I had never see sunrise,but I think that I prefer sunset rather than sunrise because it always cold in the morning.
    3.Travel to me is like to raise my intension and experience something new and fun .

     
  6. Com2_Jill

    November 12, 2014 at 12:43 am

    I have never been to Lanyu,after I reading this post I extremely want to visit there.
    When I was 10 years old,I had been to Singapore.
    There are beautiful and clean.
    Besides,there flavour food taste good.

     
  7. com1_Tony

    November 25, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    I have never been to Lanyu, but I have been to Alishan where is located in Jiayi, because my dad had promised me that he will bring me to see the sunrise. I like sunrise very much, because it`s very very beautiful. I feel like I was in heaven at that time!!

     
  8. Com1_Irene

    December 12, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    I like sunrise better, because it make me feel hopeful.
    I think travel can make me feel relax.

     

Comments